Reflecting on a Fitness Milestone

anthropologie coffee mugHere it is, Tuesday, and I’m sitting at the office sipping on my newly purchased Anthropologie mug full of fine Costa Rican coffee, almond milk, and honey reflecting on the near 2 hour run that was the Palm Beach Half Marathon this passed Sunday.

My First Half Marathon

marathon of the palm beachesI sit here with a sly grin/smile because I realize I probably just escaped what could have resulted in a disastrous first half marathon for me, because of my lack of training.  Truthfully, though, I think that’s what made it so fun, knowing that I had to lean on my will and my cross training as a swimmer to endure the 13.1 miles ahead.  (Not to mention there was a lady friend that may have fueled my motivation)

You see, I’ve been swimming 2800m 3 days per week for several months now.  Thankfully, that kind of endurance training has truly amplified my cardio and has gotten me into excellent shape.  That being said, I don’t particularly enjoy running but have always run sporadically to work out my legs a bit but never more than 3 or 4 miles.

It really wasn’t until October 20th that I had my first thought of potentially running a half marathon.  I thought to myself, If I can run 8 miles straight out the gate then I can probably run 13.1.  I guess I was right…

I’ll outline my training schedule below.  (This is not a recommended training program)

My Half Marathon Training Regime

marathon finish line

Finish Line Time 1:55.18

October 20, 2012 – 7.78mi @ 10:07/mi & total time 1:18.46 (fastest mile 8:52)

November 19, 2012 – 8.31mi @ 8:59/mi & total time 1:14.40 (fastest mile 7:29)

November 29, 2012 – 4.76mi @ 8:29/mi & total time 40:26 (fastest mile 7:43)

running - sesh3

November 29, 2012 – Splits

running-sesh2

November 19, 2012 – Splits

running-sesh1

October 20, 2012 – Splits

nicholas mohnacky half marathon time

Posted in Fitness, Palm Beach

Leave a Reply

Featured By
fitness apps
