Why I Swim 5 Miles per Week

pull buoy webSo this is a post that I’ve been dwelling on for a while now because I ask myself this question 3 days a week.  Why am I getting up at 5am to go swim again??  Ugh…

With that, I have to say that I don’t take for granted that I’m incredibly blessed to be able to wake up at 5am and even entertain the idea of swimming.  Earlier this year, in March, I signed up for the Master’s swim team at North Palm Beach Country Club.  Little did I know that I’d be the youngest person there and be surrounded by proven Ironmen and women (the poolside chatter is ridiculous… Like how was that 1:18 run you did in the Half last weekend Johnny? He literally placed 3rd overall in the half marathon).  Amazing and humbling all at once!

Alright, before I tell you why I swim 5 miles per week, allow me to give you a little pretext on myself.

My History with Swimming

Lake County Aquatics

Lake County Aquatics

I was a pretty hard core swimmer throughout high school, even in the summertime you’d find me in the water every morning for club practice.  You see swimming is one of those sports that most people who become professional athletes start early on in life, like in elementary school.  That wasn’t me, so I had a lot of catching up to do!

With the goal in mind of making it to State, here in Florida, I knew I had to bust my butt to get there and I did.  I actually made it to State within a matter of 2 years for the 500yd freestyle by placing 3rd at Regionals in Clearwater, FL.

Present Day Training

Alright, fast forward a decade (ouch!) and at the ripe age of 27 you’ll find me in the pool at North Palm Beach C.C. on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday at 6am.  A lot has changed in 10 years…

Physically, I’m bigger, stronger, and arguably faster (maybe).

Socially and Emotionally, I’m not so comfortable being smoked by 40+ year old men or women but talk about motivation, wow!

They inspire me to get up in the morning and keep me coming back for more.

Professionally, I am an entrepreneur, self-motivator, and business owner responsible for payroll, clients and contractors unlike my early years in high school, I have real responsibilities. (this is part of the why)

Why I Swim 5 Miles per Week

So what does all this mean? You get it, I’m a good swimmer but how can you relate?

Well what it means, for me, after examining why I do this, is that I do it because it requires discipline.  You see, if you’re up at 5am on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday then that means each previous night you have to be in bed early.  For me, it’s part of the cognitive balance that helps professionally align my work week with productivity and my goals.

MOHNACKY-manThere, now you’re in on my secret, because of discipline I am exponentially more productive, more positive, more astute,  more energetic, and down right happier and you can be too.

In deciding to swim again, it was always about discipline because I identified that character trait as the epicenter of success and it truly is.   

I wake up at 5am M,W,F because it takes a special kind of desire to do that, one that breaks your spirit in a very positive way by denying reluctance and improving one’s self.  Discipline requires beating your will into submission in order to effectively achieve the outcome of a desired goal.

Remember that, next time you find yourself falling away from success.

What does Discipline Affect?

– Decision Making (which is the most granular form of productivity)

  • Time Management
  • Health/Wellness
  • Social Interactions
  • Expectations

“I discipline my body like an athlete, training it to do what it should. Otherwise, I fear that after preaching to others I myself might be disqualified.” 1 Corinthians 9:27

Posted in Fitness, Leadership
4 comments on “Why I Swim 5 Miles per Week
  1. sean ely says:

    You’re a rock star.

  2. Nick, this is rich! As I was reading through your post, I kept thinking of that 1 Corin. verse -that’s so awesome that you included it at the end! 😉 Ya, this inspired me, bro. Especially in my life now, on the World Race, where I feel like I’ve ‘abandoned everything’ to live like a nomad for a year, it’s tough to stay disciplined, at all. When you feel like you’re already depriving yourself of ‘so many things’, you feel like the least you can do is ‘chill’ at all times possible. But, no, you’re right on- it’s worth it to be disciplined. “It takes a special kind of desire to , one that breaks your spirit in a very positive way by denying reluctance and improving one’s self.” I’m gonna lead a more disciplined day tomorrow- thanks, Nick 😉

  3. Nicholas Mohnacky says:

    Christina, you are on an awesomely epic journey, as I’ve been following your travels. One where you’re earning a fresh perspective and will be all the wiser because of your experiences. Thank you for the kind/encouraging words. See you soon!

Leave a Reply

Featured By
fitness apps
