Don’t Blow It – A Surfer’s Journey

The Call

travel clothesIt was about 10pm last night when I got “the call” from my buddy Perry, “Hey mate I got a flight here leaving for Hawaii at 5:45am tomorrow morning if you’re keen.”  After going over the standby schedule for about 20 minutes I pulled the trigger and had him book the flight.  I put the rest of my belongings together into one DaKine backpack and tried to get some rest, knowing I had a LONG journey ahead.

“Don’t Blow It, Mohnacky”

flight instagramSome of you know me well enough, to know that I grew up in Hawaii so I can humbly say that I’ve been there, done that and have the scars to prove it. What most of you don’t know is my reason for this trip.  I’ll tell you, it certainly isn’t about the glamorous idea of going to Hawaii, to get a lei, check a luau, and sip a mai thai.

What you should know is that this trip is about risk, danger, and reward.

It’s about witnessing an event unfold during a very short timeline because the stars are aligned and the ending of the story hasn’t been told.  I once had someone tell me, “Don’t blow it Mohnacky” and that statement stuck with me in my moments of complacency.  Well rest assured, this trip is especially about, not blowing it and I’m stoked to take you along!

Sacred Ground

You see, within the next 10 hours, I’ll have descended on a legendary place during an epic time, stepping foot on majestic soil and sacred grounds where thousands will gather to watch the world’s best surfers on the thunderous sandy shores of the world’s deadliest wave, called the Banzai Pipeline.

I’ve embarked on this journey because I want to witness the surfing world’s spartans square off at Pipe.  More importantly I want to see Kelly, at 40 years old, again, in contention for his 12th world title, seemingly at the apex of his career, surf the waters where the history of the sport began centuries ago and watch the fairy tale ending unfold. (he may win and retire in the very place where it means the most)

kelly slater pipemasters 2012

I’ll be updating you here and on my social channels so stay tuned…

Here’s the breakdown of the World Title Race Scenarios:

kelly joel mick(As Parkinson is the current rankings leader on the ASP WCT, the following ASP World Title scenarios will be based on his potential finishes at Pipeline.)

If Parkinson finishes 13th, 9th or 5th at the Billabong Pipe Masters:

Slater needs a 5th or higher to take the 2012 ASP World Title.

Fanning needs to win at Pipeline to take the 2012 ASP World Title.*
*Contingent upon Slater finishing 5th or Lower at Pipeline.

If Parkinson finishes Equal 3rd at the Billabong Pipe Masters:

Slater needs a 3rd or higher to take the 2012 ASP World Title.

Fanning needs to win at Pipeline to take the 2012 ASP World Title.*
*Contingent upon Slater finishing 5th or Lower at Pipeline.

If Parkinson finishes 2nd at the Billabong Pipe Masters:

Slater needs to win at Pipeline to take the 2012 ASP World Title.

Fanning cannot win the 2012 ASP World Title.

billabong pipemasters 2012

Posted in Travel

Leave a Reply

Featured By
fitness apps
